Self Coaching: 4 Key Mindsets

25 Jul

Here are the top 4 keys to success no matter what obstacles you are facing. If you can get yourself to habitually practice these four things, you will find yourself a long way toward success in every area of your life!

#1 – Maintain a 3:1 ratio: Three positive thoughts for every one negative.
It’s not safe, wise or healthy to ignore bad news, impending doom or even minor set-backs. It is far worse, however, to focus on them as the only facts in play. Instead, when you think about a downer, deal with quickly it and then revert to upward thoughts. In this way, you will not slip hopelessly into the slimy pit of despair.

#2 – Focus on “what to do about it” instead of the problem.
Every minute you waste bemoaning your situation is a minute you could have spent working toward a positive resolution. Allow yourself to focus on the problem only long enough to understand it. Use the rest of your energy solving it.

#3 – Avoid “have to” language.
As long as you “have to” do something, you probably won’t. You really aren’t yet “ready” to do it. And, if can get yourself to do it, you probably won’t enjoy it. Instead, work to change your perspective so that you actually “want to” or “get to” do it. A step toward this goal is to use “I choose” language vs. “I must, I need to, or I should.”

#4 – Be present and have faith.
It is a fact that “in this very moment” you have everything you need. Most fear, worry and hopelessness stems from predicting future doom and destruction. Instead, remember the words of the prophet Isaiah and have hope! “Do not [earnestly] remember the former things; neither consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs forth; do you not perceive and know it and will you not give heed to it? I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 43:18-19

And, if you are really serious about setting yourself up for major success, tap into Success Principles Intensive, on sale now at 90% off!

Leave a comment, share this post with a friend & stay in touch via:

3 Responses to “Self Coaching: 4 Key Mindsets”

  1. Tanja @ Crystal Clarity July 26, 2012 at 3:32 AM #

    I love #2, Marnie. When I was first working in the corporate world, I had a boss who introduced me to the phrase “don’t bring me problems, bring me possible solutions – at least show me you’ve thought about it constructively!” It was a complete mindset change for me, but it’s one I’ve remembered ever since!

    Blessings, and great to meet you through the List-a-Palooza challenge 🙂

    TANJA

  2. Lorii Abela August 9, 2012 at 10:30 AM #

    Thanks for the tips and advice, Marnie. I have to admit, I am guilty with #3. Seems like I can’t avoid using the “have to” language. But with this post, I will remember to avoid it for sure. Thanks for sharing!

    Lorii Abela
    Owner/President
    http://manifestingmydestiny.com/

    P.S. Great to connect with you through List-a-Palooza.

    • Marnie August 9, 2012 at 10:33 AM #

      My hardest is #1 — life gets moving so fast and I FORGET to look up more than I’m looking around!

Leave a Reply

