Research 101

25 Jan
Lance Winslow, World Think Tank Lance Winslow is the founder of the World Think Tank, and has written over 20,000 online articles and 10-eBooks. By his estimation, he has published some 9 million words.

Upon being quoted in my new eBook, eBooks: Idea to Amazon in 14 Days, he asked a good question: “How on Earth did your researchers choose that one paragraph out of all the articles I’ve written on this subject of eBooks?”

Good question! I’ll try to explain below.

1. When I work a large project, any large project, I break things down into bite-size pieces. As I wrote this book in 14 days, I started by identifying the chapter titles and then researching and writing each one, independent of the others.

2. I hired researchers and assigned them to just one chapter, as a stand alone project. They were to provide me with a list of articles and online resources addressing only their one, specific field of interest. Note: The links they provided could only come from credible sources. All other content was ignored.

3. By the time I received each list, I had already written the main chapter content. The main points were in place and I was looking for “accent pieces” – content that enhanced, expanded or added further depth to the information I had already written.

Note: When I read for pleasure, I read every word. When I research, I am like a heat-seeking-missile: I am focused on ferreting out a precise set of facts for a specific niche-need in my writing.

Thanks for asking! Hope this helps somebody.

Stay in touch with me (Marnie) via:

Leave a Reply

