Are You a Fraud? (2 Year Old Faith)

24 Nov

This morning I posted this Oswald Chambers quote to my social networks and I immediately had comments on Facebook, Twitter and even the much-more-reserved LinkedIn. Everything from. “WHAT?!” to “That’s crazy!” Here is the quote:

“Determinedly take no one seriously but God,
and the first person you find you have to leave severely alone
as being the greatest fraud you have ever known, is yourself.”

Here is my take on it (and I hope you’ll leave your comments below!):

I like to think of myself as a 2 year old compared to God:

  • I am small
  • I say, “No!” a lot
  • I demand to do things myself (confident I do not need help!)
  • I take great pride in my work
  • I feel pretty sure He can’t live without me
  • and I stand about 36″ tall compared to His unfathomableness.

God, being the wise, loving and patient Father He is, does what any good parent of a two year old would do: He takes into consideration my “self-delusions of grandeur,” protects me, invites me to partner with Him in projects where I can learn about life (and Him), cleans up the messes I make and fixes the damages I incur in the process, and then rewards me for my feeble contributions.

He is not intimidated by the fact that I delude myself into thinking that He blesses me because I am “good” – or can in some way improve His life. My performance is practically irrelevant; my relationship as His child is paramount. He is never unclear about this, but sometimes I am.

Oswald says, “The greatest fraud you have ever known, is yourself.”

I believe he is saying to me, “Sister, you have a very HIGH opinion of yourself, your abilities and your usefulness to God. Flip it around, girl! Recognize that GOD is HIGH, powerful and necessary. And then praise Him, thank Him and live for Him. Let Him flow His own life through you, because in Him YOU have value and great worth.”

Paul warns us about “thinking we are something when we are nothing.”

Two year old compared to God

God Gets It!

It helps me to think of being two – I LOVED my two year olds! They were actually quite a lot of trouble, but my love for them, and my reasonable expectations of their capabilities made all the difference.

Could Oswald be saying: “Don’t deceive yourself. Compared to God, you are much more like a two year old than an MVP!”

How about this? Why not go find the nicest dandelion you can, pick it and give it to God. He’ll love it! He will not fret about the fact that He made them all, and that there are nicer ones out there. He will simple revel in the fact that you wanted to please Him!



Stay in touch with me (Marnie) via:

2 Responses to “Are You a Fraud? (2 Year Old Faith)”

  1. Barbara Walls November 25, 2009 at 2:26 PM #

    I so often feel like a 2 year old when I am trying my best to serve Him because my first attempt is usually all about doing it my way. I have deceived myself… I am a fraud. I say I am following the Holy Spirit’s leading but that’s not true. Some people will not know the difference, but others see right through the masquerade. That is why I need godly friends who will speak Truth into my life and ministry.

  2. Becky Terry November 27, 2009 at 7:40 AM #

    I loved this analogy, Marnie ~ so true.

    I was just with a two-year-old yesterday, and can totally relate.

    Yes, I am a fraud…..I’m cruising along thinking all is pretty honky-dory, God and I are good….. and then ~ every once in awhile, God reveals either glimpses of His awesome holiness or glimpses of my profound sinfulness, and I shutter at my arrogance and deception. Back to putty.
    Oh, great Potter….may I consistantly be the clay that is moldable to Your crafting…..not my own ~ not what a two-year-old would design. Thank You, Jesus, for Your patience and unconditional love. In Your name I pray. AMEN

Leave a Reply

